Contact Form 7 FAQ

This post is no longer updated. Move to Contact Form 7 official site.


Download | Plugin Homepage | FAQ | Support Forum

(日本語の FAQ はこちら)

  1. Where is the settings page for Contact Form 7?
  2. How can I add a contact form into my post content?
  3. How can I add a field to my contact form?
  4. Nothing shows up in the email, even after adding a tag to the form! How can I include a new field’s input in the email?
  5. I get emails containing codes such as [foobar]. What’s this? I want to see the user’s input.
  6. How can I specify a subject for the email?
  7. Can I place a contact form outside a post?
  8. Can I embed a contact form into my template file?
  9. After submitting the form, I get an error message stating “Failed to send your message”. What is wrong?
  10. I get an error message with a red border. So, how can I solve this?
  11. I see a response message “Your message was sent successfully” with green border, but I never receive a mail for that.
  12. The spinning arrow icon shows up once I submit a form, but then nothing happens.
  13. My contact form behaves oddly on certain browsers.
  14. I want to use contact form in my language, not in English. How can I do that?
  15. CAPTCHA does not work; the image does not show up.
  16. CAPTCHA’s text input box is working on Internet Explorer, but not with Firefox. I cannot enter the code.
  17. File upload & file attachment do not work.


Where is the settings page for Contact Form 7?

Log into WordPress and open Settings > Contact Form 7.

Update: It’s in Manage > Contact Form 7 since Contact Form 7 1.8.

Update: WordPress 2.7 moved the page to Tools > Contact Form 7.

How can I add a contact form into my post content?

Open the settings page for Contact Form 7, and then open the contact form you want to add.

Each contact form has its own tag, such as [contact-form 1 "My contact form"]. To insert the contact form into your post, copy the tag and paste it into the post content.

faqimg1.png

How can I add a field to my contact form?

To add a field, add a tag to the Form textarea.

faqimg2.png

Each tag has a strict syntax, supporting several options (see Contact Form 7 Tag Syntax).

Learning the syntax might be difficult, but you can easily make a custom tag by using the tag generator instead. Click Generate Tag and simply select the options you’re interested in.

Nothing shows up in the email, even after adding a tag to the form! How can I include a new field’s input in the email?

You need to add a new tag to the Mail fields. This tag should correspond to the tag in the Form you wish to include in the email. Thus, when you add a new form tag such as [text your-new-field], the corresponding email tag would be [your-new-field]. Only the second part of the tag (“your-new-field”, in this case) is needed for the email.

faqimg3.png

A tag in the Mail field will be replaced with the user’s input contained in a form field with the same name.

I get emails containing codes such as [foobar]. What’s this? I want to see the user’s input.

See above. In this case, no form tag corresponds to the [foobar] email tag. A tag in the Mail field which has no corresponding tag in the Form will be left without replacement.

How can I specify a subject for the email?

Simply edit the Subject field in the Mail section (not in the Form section).

Can I place a contact form outside a post?

Yes. You may place a contact form in a text widget as well.

Can I embed a contact form into my template file?

No, this functionality is not yet supported.

After submitting the form, I get an error message stating “Failed to send your message”. What is wrong?

There could be two causes for this. The first is actual mail server trouble, where email cannot be sent. In this case, the error message would be surrounded with a RED border line. Contact your server admin.

The second possible cause is that the form content is classified as spam by Akismet. In this case, the error message would be surrounded with a YELLOW border line.

I get an error message with a red border. So, how can I solve this?

There are really various reasons for server side problems, so I can’t explain exactly what yours is. But experiences of other users who solved their problem might be helpful for you.

Mario Vargas says he solved a mail-related problem with WP-Mail-SMTP plugin.

I see a response message “Your message was sent successfully” with green border, but I never receive a mail for that.

Showing the green border message means that the PHP function for sending the mail has certainly completed successfully. So if you can’t receive the mail, it’s highly possible that the mail has been kidnapped or killed after that.

If you can check the log of your mail server, it could give you some clues. Spam filter often causes this kind of problem.

The spinning arrow icon shows up once I submit a form, but then nothing happens.

This is most probably due to a conflict between plugins. Try deactivating all other plugins.

My contact form behaves oddly on certain browsers.

This may be caused due to invalid HTML, CSS, or Javascript. Please check your form page with a validator or debugging tool.

Useful tools:
Firebug — Firefox extension. Good for Javascript debugging.
XHTML-CSS Validator — A validator with a good UI.

I want to use contact form in my language, not in English. How can I do that?

Contact Form 7 has been translated into many languages. See if the languages folder contains a language file for your language.

The locale setting of Contact Form 7 follows the locale setting of WordPress. Once you change the WordPress locale to, Contact Form 7 is also changed. See how to change the WordPress locale here.

CAPTCHA does not work; the image does not show up.

To use CAPTCHA, you need GD and FreeType library installed on your server. Also, the contact-form-7/captcha/tmp folder must be writable.

Contact Form 7 1.8 and later require wp-contents/uploads/wpcf7_captcha folder writable, instead of contact-form-7/captcha/tmp.

Update (2009/03/23): Contact Form 1.9.4 and later refers your upload folder setting in Settings > Miscellaneous menu for resolving the base directory for CAPTCHA’s temporary folder. So it may not use wp-contents/uploads/wpcf7_captcha. For example, when your upload folder is set “wp-content/myfiles”, CAPTCHA temp files will be created in wp-content/myfiles/wpcf7_captcha, so you need to make that folder writable.

CAPTCHA’s text input box is working on Internet Explorer, but not with Firefox. I cannot enter the code.

This is a well-known issue caused by misusing the <label> element. Make sure you are using it correctly.

This is good:

[captchac your-captcha]
<label>Enter the code: [captchar your-captcha]</label>

This will not work correctly:

<label>[captchac your-captcha]
Enter the code: [captchar your-captcha]</label>

File upload & file attachment do not work.

See this post.

File uploading and attachment with Contact Form 7

440 thoughts on “Contact Form 7 FAQ

  1. hi,

    how can i get user informations to contact form?

    explain…

    if open contact form gets info, enter a user login web (registered user)

  2. Hi there. yé, that´s a amazing plug in, but i have a problem, i can´t send files with my form, i tried everything… and I use 2.8 wordpress version with the last contact form version, what i can doing wrong?

    Coloque sua foto aqui!
    Só serão aceitas imagens de rosto, arquivos menores de 100 Kb,
    com 150 x 150 pixels e nas extensões JPG, PNG ou GIF.
    [file your-foto limit:500000 filetypes:jpg|gif|png|jpeg]

    Coloque aqui seu Currículo
    Somente serão aceitos documentos em Word (doc) ou PDF
    [file your-curriculo limit:500000 filetypes:doc|pdf]

    this is waht i´m doing!

    Thanks

  3. Great plugin … Thanks for your time!

    fyi..i’m very much a novice.

    I understand that to get the form results into the email i need to place some ammended tags correlating to the form in the email.

    How do I get the results though if they are multiple check mark results?

  4. Hi,

    With the 2 files GD and FreeType library needed to be installed on the server, where in the server should i upload them in wp-contents/ or wp-contents/plugins?

    The contact form works well, just cant’ get the image to show up.

    Thanks in advance.

  5. Please advice on how to change the width of the Message box in Form 7. I installed it into the Text widget and itis too wide.
    Thanks you very much
    Emil

  6. Hi I have activated the plugin but no code has shown up, so I cannot paste the code into where it is supposed to go.

    Thanks for your help

  7. I really love the possibilities of Cforms 7. It is really what I was looking for. One thing though: I want to have the possibility to log all form-entries to the database. (and if possible download as csv)

    Is this in your roadmap. Or is this function negotiable?

    many thanks in advance

  8. also, since the form submits to the same page it runs the risk of the user hitting refresh on the page which then would resend the email every time. The way you could fix this is to have it redirect to a url with a querystring in it instead of an anchor tag.

  9. How can i restrict users from accessing contact form 7. Ex. I have a user group, we will call “dummys” that i do not want to access contact form 7. I am using a plugin Capability Manager but it cannot control Contact Form 7.

  10. Hello,

    Thank you for a great plugin!

    I’m writing to ask how to generate a receipt page after the contact form has been submitted? I want to use that page as a conversion page to measure the number of submitted contact forms.

    Thanks in advance!

  11. Too bad, Internet Explorer wont’t play with this plugin. I like the way it is easy to handle but getting it running with IE is a waste of time. I did everything I found on forums and comment lists: correct XHTML, deactivated all other plugins – but nothing. The waiting icon will turn around and around and never stop. it works fine with Firefox and Opera. But more than 70% of our website visitors use IE. Any idea what could be wrong?

  12. Pingback: Tasarım – Wordpress eklentileri, Contact Form 7

  13. i think this can be a great plugin but i am trying to get this to show up on a page but it won’t. using the isn’t working. isn’t there another way to get this to show up on a page?

  14. I have deactivated all my plugins and the arrow still keeps spinning after submitting – but it does send the form – what can I do?

  15. Hi,
    I got a problem. I have my menu items as HOME, ABOUT US, ASK MARCUS, THE FASHION REPORT, CONTACT US. For some reason THE FASHION REPORT doesn’t show on the menu bar. I have another site in which I’m having the same problem. The menu item right before CONTACT US, just disappears. Do you know why?

    Thanks,
    FM

  16. I would like to be able to go to another URL after the submit button is pushed, instead of the message “our Meassage Was Sent Successfully. Thanks”

    Is there a way to go to another URL as a “Thank You” Page?

  17. Strangely enough, when i create this form i have two problems.

    ONE
    Every email comes to me from “WordPress” even though i have [your-email]in from line. How the heck do i get rid of “WordPress” from….?

    TWO
    I added a text field for phone number, but no matter how many times i enter the phone number, with or without spaces or hyphens, no number comes thru in email, just [your-phone]

    Help? And many thanx for a nifty plugin.

    J

  18. Hey,

    Anyone having trouble getting Captcha to show up?

    This is what I did…

    Found on this Faq page: This is good:

    [captchac your-captcha]
    Enter the code: [captchar your-captcha]

    Hmmm didn’t see that in my acp area…

    I added that to my Form box in the wp-Admin/Contact 7
    edit page where it says FORM just above the submit
    button code.

    Then, I refreshed my contact page, and it said, ” I
    needed to install the “Really Simple Captcha”.

    I did this and presto!

  19. Joanie –>

    Forgive my bad english ^^

    In order to move “From WordPress” in the email author, i have done this in Contact Form shield (mail 2 / “from” shield) :

    You

    You –> it’s the name that you what to display it (your blog title for example) ;

    –> it’s the mail that you want to use (as your email blog).

    It’s work for me :)

    Good luck !

  20. In general, I like CF7. However, I have not found a way to set the width of input fields to 100% – i.e. the full width of the box/element that contains them. Obviously you can set this in pixels, but if you change your blog theme, this then breaks. Can anything be done about this?

  21. Hello,
    Am using the contact form Version 2.1.2. After hitting the submit button on the contact form page, and after submitting the information, the success box with the green border appears and the message”thank you ..your information has been submitted” appears on the screen.

    I need to take out that Green box that displays that message. And if we are not able to take out that box completely, atleast I would like to change the color of the Green border box to color white, so that it matches the color of the background….any help is greatly appreciated…
    thank you..

  22. I’m going to look closely at how to enter captcha in my form, I’m having spam problems and I have little idea how to do it .. thanks for the help!

  23. Hello! thanks a lot for plugin! Have one question: I want to send the name of post in wich user fill form, I want to use hidding field for it. but i don’t know where to put this field. Can you halp me with this?

  24. Hey, I had a bunch of trouble with contact form 7 not wanting to send emails with php_mail(). Also couldn’t get it to work with this plugin.

    After trying every fix I could online I stumbled upon a comment on another forum that suggested the problem was in the set up of comment form 7, not with wordpress.

    I want everyone who is getting this ” Failed to send your message. Please try later or contact administrator by other way. ” in a red box, to check the contact form settings. The to: , from: and message fields need to be set for the form to capture the data and send it off.

    mine look like this. To: (whatever email you want it sent to) From: [your-email] **very important** , Message Body: [your-message] ** also important if you want to get their message.

Leave a Reply

